Prof. Emil Salim

Professor of Economic, University of Indonesia.

Minister of Environment Republic of Indonesia, Minister of Economic Republic of Indonesia, Chairman of the National Economic Council (Ketua Dewan Nasional Ekonomi), Prof. Dr. Emil Salim was a former government Minister of the Republic of Indonesia, but the role has been playing on the environment agenda is global, beyond his country’s border. He was a member of the United Nations World Commission on Environment and Development (1984-1987), Vice Chairperson of the UN High Level Advisory Council for Sustainable Development (1992), the Co-chair of the World Commission on Forests and Sustainable Development (1994), Chairperson of the 10th United Nations Commission on Sustainable Development (2001-2002), Chairperson of the Preparatory Committee for the World Summit (2002), and Chair of the Third ASEAN Environment Ministerial Conference. In all these positions Emil Salim has been able to give voice to the environmental problems of developing nations of Asia. He is also active in civil society by creating the foundation for Sustainable Development, Indonesia Biodiversity Foundation, and the Indonesian Ecolabelling Institute. Emil Salim also assisted the “Tokyo International Conference on African Development” (TICAD) initiative by the Japanese Government. He is now a member of the Asia Forum on Environment and Development (2002-now), member of the Advisory Board to the President of the Asian Development Bank (2009-now). He was trusted to be Head of Indonesia Delegation for UNFCCC (2007).  He has won a number of awards that recognize his contributions in his field, including the Bintang Mahaputera Adiprandana (Republic of Indonesia, 1973), Golden ARK (Commandeur) (The Netherlands, 1982), Paul Getty Award (USA, 1990), The Hamengkubuwono IX Award of the University of Gajah Mada (2003), the Zayed Prize for Environmental Action Leading to Positive Change in Society (2006), Mercu Buana University Award (2006) and the Blue Planet Asahi Prize Award (2006). The Sarwono Indonesian Science Institute Award, and others. He also obtained the Honorary Doctorate from the University Kebangsaan Malaysia (1995) and Institute of Technology Bandung (2009).